Carat Weight Variance Range
< 1 carat
1/20 carat .04-.06
1/10 carat .085-.11
1/8 carat .115-.14
1/6 carat .145-.17
1/5 carat .18-.22
1/4 carat .23-.28
1/3 carat .29-.36
3/8 carat .37-.44
1/2 carat .45-.57
5/8 carat .58-.68
3/4 carat .69-.79
7/8 carat .80-.94
1 carat .95-1.11
1/5 carats 1.18 - 1.22
1/4 carats 1.23-1.28
1/3 carats 1.29-1.36
3/8 carats 1.37-1.44
1/2 carats 1.45-1.57
5/8 carats 1.58-1.68
3/4 carats 1.69-1.79
7/8 carats 1.80-1.94
2 carats 1.95-2.11
3 carats 2.95-3.11
4 carats 3.95-4.11
5 carats 4.95-5.11
6 carats 5.95-6.11
7 carats 6.95-7.11

Diamond Carat, Clarity, Color, and Cut

The 4Cs are a way to compare diamond quality and value. Each "C" has its own grading scale for evaluating quality. Explore them below.

People often mistake carats as a measurement of size, but they actually measure approximate weight (CTW = Carat Total Weight). Typically, a heavier diamond appears larger, but size isn't everything. Two diamonds of equal carat weight can have significantly different value when the other Cs are considered.
Carat Weight Millimeter Size(approx.)
diamond-carat-image 0.05 ct 2.5 mm
diamond-carat-image 0.25 ct 4.1 mm
diamond-carat-image 0.50 ct 5.2 mm
diamond-carat-image 0.75 ct 5.8 mm
diamond-carat-image 1.00 ct 6.5 mm
diamond-carat-image 1.25 ct 6.9 mm
diamond-carat-image 1.50 ct 7.4 mm
diamond-carat-image 2.00 ct 8.2 mm

Like any rock or mineral, diamonds can have flaws. Choosing a diamond with a difficult-to-detect inclusion or blemish can be a great way to save on cost without sacrificing beauty.

The GIA Diamond Clarity Grade scale has 11 grades in all. Most jewelry stores carry VVS as their highest grade. VS or SI are considered by most to be "fine quality" diamonds.
Grade Description
diamond-clarity-image F Flawless inside and out
diamond-clarity-image IF Internally flawless —
blemishes on the surface
but not inside the diamond
diamond-clarity-image VVS1,
Very, very slightly included
diamond-clarity-image VS1, VS2 Very slightly included
diamond-clarity-image SI1, SI2 Slightly included
diamond-clarity-image I1, I2, I3 Included and detectable
with the eye

Diamonds come out of the earth in many different colors. The market has traditionally valued white diamonds higher than others, and the grading scale offers five groups of 23 letters to reflect that.
Grade Description
diamond-color-image D Top of the scale —
colorless, rarest and most
diamond-color-image G Near colorless
diamond-color-image I Still appears white, but
more affordable
diamond-color-image J Human eye begins to
detect a yellow tint
diamond-color-image Z Unmistakably yellow in

Cut refers to a stone's shape, facet, and polish. Sometimes diamonds are cut so they're heavier, fetching more value for their carat weight. Sometimes they're cut to hide or minimize inclusions by expert diamond cutters skilled at bringing the brilliance out of each diamond they work with.
Grade Description
diamond-cut-image EX Excellent
diamond-cut-image VG Very Good
diamond-cut-image G Good
diamond-cut-image F Fair
diamond-cut-image P Poor